Ottorino RESPIGHI: Complete Piano Music, Volume One

Respighi’s orchestral works are some of the most popular in the mainstream repertoire. His output of piano music, by contrast, is as good as unknown, and this new Toccata Classics series will be the first ever to present it all: original works and transcriptions alike, for solo piano, piano four hands and two pianos. This first instalment crowns his earliest keyboard compositions with the magisterial Three Preludes on Gregorian Melodies, miniature Lisztian tone-poems presented with Busonian grandeur.

Catalogue No: TOCC0405
EAN/UPC: 5060113444059
Release Date: 01.08.2019
Composer: Ottorino Respighi
Artists: Giovanna Gatto


Sonata in F minor, p016 (1897–98)
01 – I Allegro
02 – II Lento
03 – III Allegretto

Preludio in B flat minor, p043 (1903)
04 – Lento

Preludio in D minor, p043a (1903)
05 – Lento e Presto
06 – Toccata in D Dorian, P105b (1916)*
07 – Andante in F major, P006 (1896)
08 – Andante in E major, P006a (1896; compl. Giovanna Gatto)*
09 – Andante in D major, P007 (1896)

Tre preludi sopra melodie gregoriane, p131 (1921)
10 – No. 1, Molto lento
11 – No. 2, Tempestoso
12 – No. 3, Lento



© Giovanna Gatto 2021 - All Rights Reserved